Inaugural David G. Kendall Award: Call for nominations

The award committee invites nominations for the Bernoulli Society-Royal Statistical Society David G Kendall Award for Young Researchers. The award is open to those who obtained their PhD after January 1st 2013 (with extensions for disruptions to the candidate’s work available at the committee’s discretion).

This new prize for an excellent young researcher will be awarded every two years. The subject will alternate between probability and mathematical statistics. The inaugural award, to be made in Summer 2021, is dedicated to probability theory.

The name of the prize honours David G Kendall, who was the first president of the Bernoulli Society and was awarded the RSS Guy Medal in Gold in 1981.

The prize will be presented at either a Bernoulli Society conference (typically the Bernoulli-IMS World Congress or the ISI-WSC) or RSS conference (as specified by the applicant). The prize consists of a certificate and the award of €2,000 to cover the expenses of attendance at the conference.

Nominations should be communicated to the award committee through This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and be signed by two members of the BS or the RSS. They must include the name, affiliation, and brief curriculum vitae (including a list of publications) of the nominee, a statement of no more than 100 words summarizing the case for nomination, a list of the best 3 articles, and a review of no more than 2 pages of the nominee's research contributions. 

Award Committee

  • Geoffrey Grimmett (Cambridge University and Heilbronn Institute)
  • Saul Jacka (University of Warwick and Alan Turing Institute)
  • Gesine Reinert (Oxford University and Alan Turing Institute)
  • Ruth Williams (University of California, San Diego)

Deadline for nominations: Sunday 31 January 2021

More details on the prize.

© Bernoulli Society