The Francisco Aranda-Ordaz Prize

LARC-SLAPEM organizes every two/three years the Francisco Aranda-Ordaz Prize. It is a Ph. D. thesis contest sponsored by the Bernoulli Society, created to honor the memory of a distinguished young Mexican statistician who died tragically in 1991.

The prize is awarded for one thesis in Probability and one thesis in Statistics written by students from Latin America regardless of the country of the university offering the degree. The winners are invited to present their works at the CLAPEM meeting.

Recent winners are: 

  • 2016, Statistics Prize: Nicolas Garcia Trillos.
    Dissertation title: "Variational limit of graph cuts on point clouds" under direction of Dejan Slepcev.
  • 2016, Probability Prize: Roberto Amaru Cortez Milán. Dissertation title: "Propagacíon de caos para sistemas de partículas de interacción de salto puro" under direction of Joaquin Fontbona Torres.
  • 2014, Statistics Prize: Alejandro Cholaquidis.
    Dissertation title: "Técnicas de teoría geométrica de la medida en estimación de conjuntos”  (Geometric measure techniques applied to set estimation”), under direction of Ricardo Fraiman and Antonio Cuevas.
  • 2014, Probability Prize: Julián Facundo Martínez.
    Dissertation title: "Dynamical Gibbs-non-Gibbs transitions and Brownian percolation" under direction of  Frank den Hollander and Roberto Fernández.
  • 2011, Statistics Prize:  Pamela Nerina Llop.
    Dissertation title:  ``Densidades, Regresion y Clasificacion para Datos Funcionales (Densities, Regression and Classification for Functional Data)'', under direction of Drs. Liliana Forzani and Ricardo Fraiman.
  • 2011, Probability Prize:  Antonio (Tuca) Auffinger,  PhD in Mathematics, New York University, USA, in 2011.
    Dissertation title  ``Random Matrices, Complexity of Spin Glasses and Heavy Tailed Processes'', under the direction of Dr. Gerard Ben Arous.
  • 2009,  Probability Prize: Sebastián Grymberg, Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina, for his thesis "Construcción y simulación perfecta de campos markovianos con splines", adviser Pablo Ferrari.
  • 2009,  Statistics Prize: Maria da Gloria Abage de Lima, Universidade Federal de Pernambuco, Brazil, for her thesis "Essays on heteroskedasticity", adviser Francisco Cribari.

© Bernoulli Society